The Vigil - Are ready to 'Save our Souls'

January 11th 2017
The Vigil explore Bush
Bringing some of the strongest 90’s Rock / Grunge sounds into the modern age, Bristol band The Vigil have released their eagerly awaited debut 'Save our Souls'. This incredible album was produced by Nigel Pulsford (Bush), who is a long time supporter of the band and even played guitar on some of the tracks. Packed full of impressive solo's, sleazy riffs, gravelly vocals; this is a strong first release from a band who have spent years perfecting their sound.
Bringing vocals and lyrics ripped straight out of the Kurt Cobain songbook, 'Save our Souls' proves that The Vigil stand at the top of the pile of post Grunge bands currently competing for Nirvana's slot. With their surprisingly easy to listen to mix of Grunge, Psychedlic Rock and good old fashioned Rock 'n' Roll, The Vigil are making music that will sound just as great in twenty years time as they do today.
The Vigil with our mascot Ray Wolfston (Pictured Above)
The Vigil recently released video 'All you've Done'. The track is typical of the huge sound of The Vigil, with classic riffs and pounding drums. The video was directed by legendary Rock photographer Steve Gullick. The Vigil has its roots going back to the late 90's when as kids Dom Mehigan (Bass) and Olly Smith (Guitar / Vocals) would jam around each other's garages choosing to focus on original songs rather than the Brit-Pop of the day or covers.
With a sound more in tune with their influences of Nirvana, Everclear, Smashing Pumpkins, and digging deep into the US underground with acts such as 7 Year Bitch and 80's Punk Rock like the Dead Kennedys and Fugazi. The Vigil enlisted Jamie Davenport on drums and Robbie Schuck on the six string, and the line up was complete. Having performed together under various names and guises, The Vigil moved to Bristol, integrating into that scene and supported some impressive bands, such as their early heroes Everclear, Therapy?, The Datsuns and Puddle of Mudd.
Nigel Pulsford (Ex-Bush) (Pictured Above)
Following a great reaction from the crowds, they knew they had to make an album. They began looking for a producer and realised lead guitar was an important element to the overall sound they wanted to achieve. On learning that Nigel Pulsford from the multi platinum selling British Rock band Bush had moved to nearby Bath, they got in touch. To the bands delight Nigel was interested in working with them as their producer, as well as offering to play lead guitar on the album. Keep your eyes and ears out for The Vigil's next move!

'Save our Souls' tracklisting Below:
01 All you've Done
02 Black Arrow
03 Nothing Sacred
04 Do you feel Alive
05 Hell to Pay
06 Liar's Chair
07 Find a Way
08 No one Wins
09 Absinthium
10 Feeding Time
11 Know what you Are
12 Turn the Tide
The Vigil are:
Olly Smith (Guitar / Vocals) / Dom Mehigan (Bass) / Robbie Schuck (Lead Guitar) / Jamie Davenport (Drums)
Check Out! the Video for 'Do you feel Alive' Below...